The Cultural Diversity Department of the Ministry of Culture is responsible for the development, coordination and monitoring of integration policy. It supports the cultural societies of national minorities, kindred nations and compatriots and helps to promote their cultural life and activities.

What is integration?

The aim of the integration policy is to contribute to the development of a cohesive and stable society in Estonia, where people with various linguistic and cultural backgrounds have embraced Estonian identity and consider Estonia to be their homeland; actively participate in society, including in employment, lifelong learning and civil society; share democratic values, contribute to the development of the state and society, as well as orient in the Estonian cultural space. Integration is based on the openness of Estonian society and people's awareness and respect for different cultures and languages, and the acceptance of an Estonian identity.

Research in the field of integration is available here.


Integration policy activities are implemented by the Integration Foundation (INSA). The INSA headquarters is in Narva. Estonian language houses are located in Tallinn and Narva.

Integration activities are also carried out by these institutions: Ministry of the Interior, Ministry of Social Affairs, Ministry of Education and Research, Unemployment Insurance Fund, Innove, local governments, Estonian Public Broadcasting, third sector organisations and others.


The field of integration is regulated by the following laws:


National Minorities Cultural Autonomy Act

One of the basic documents in the field of cultural diversity is the UNESCO Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions, which has been adopted by more than 100 countries. The Ministry of Culture is responsible for the implementation of the convention in Estonia.

Last updated: 13.12.2020