You are here

The minimum wage for cultural workers will increase to €1,300

31. December 2018 - 14:39
Indrek Saar ja Ago Tuuling
Indrek Saar ja Ago Tuuling

Minister of Culture Indrek Saar and Ago Tuuling, Chairman of the Management Board of the Confederation of Estonian Employees' Unions (TALO), signed the state wage agreement for workers in the cultural field for 2019. Based on the agreement the minimum gross salary for cultural workers will increase to €1300 per month starting in the new year.

The salary agreement affects the almost 4,000 workers in the cultural workers who are paid from the Ministry of Culture budget. In addition to the minimum wage, the salary fund for those cultural workers whose salaries already exceed the minimum or who work at jobs that provide support services will also increase by 7%.

‘Culture is the primary and most important idea behind the existence of the Estonian state, and the government values our cultural workers. A significant wage increase will help to ensure the sustainability of national culture and an increase in the number of specialists who can help to develop both high culture and folk culture,’ said Minister of Culture Indrek Saar

During the past year, the gross minimum wage for cultural workers has been €1,150. In 2015, it was only €731, which means that the minimum wage has increased by 78% in the intervening years.

‘In culture, a continuity that is sustained by all the cultural worker is important. Today, I again state that the principles of the state wage agreement should apply to everyone, be it local government or private cultural organisers,’ said Ago Tuuling, board chairman of TALO.

The wage policies related to cultural workers is determined by the base document called Fundamentals of Cultural Policy until 2020 or Culture 2020. The document calls for the income level of full-time cultural workers to be increased to equal the average wage in Estonia by 2020.

The agreed upon wage increase affects cultural workers receiving salaries from the state budget. These include workers being paid by the state, as well as those who work at state institutions, public institutions, foundations and county libraries. The cultural workers that are covered include those with higher educations, higher vocational qualifications or specific specialised knowledge equivalent to the higher education requirement.

More news on the same subject

"Undefined Useful Object", autor Kärt Ojavee
14.02.2020|Ministry of Culture

The Culture Friends of the Year for 2019 are Feliks Mägus and Olerex

Today, on Valentine’s Day, the Ministry of Culture presented the Culture Friend of the Year awards for 2019. The main prizes, i.e. the Culture Friend of the Year titles, went to Feliks Mägus and the fuel company Olerex. In total, Minister of Culture Tõnis Lukas recognised 23 companies or private supporters for their contributions to culture.

Elutööpreemiate laureaadid 2020
06.02.2020|Ministry of Culture

The laureates of the achievement awards for culture and sport were announced by the government

On 6 February, the government decided that the Lifetime Achievement Awards for Culture will be awarded to Rutt Hinrikus, Paul-Eerik Rummo and Toomas Rein, and the Lifetime Achievement Awards for Sport will be awarded to Kadri Liivak and Peeter Mardna. The government’s decision is based on the proposals of the Commission for National Culture Awards and the Estonian Sport Council.