TXT            ENG / EST / RUS
  Search by keyword
 Areas of responsibility
Literature and Publishing
Visual Arts
Folk Culture
Cultural Heritage
Creative Industries
Broadcasting and Audiovisual Policy
Copyright and Neighbouring Rights
International Relations
Cultural Diversity and Integration
National Culture Awards
National Sports Awards

  Intranet | Mail
Welcome to the website of the Estonian Ministry of Culture! > Cultural Diversity and Integration
Cultural Diversity and Integration

Estonia is home to representatives of more than a hundred nationalities. The majority of the people residing in the Republic of Estonia are Estonians by nationality. The second largest nation group are Russians, followed by Ukrainians, Belarusians and Finns.

National minorities are protected in all democratic countries of the world under laws and international agreements. Section 49 of the Constitution of the Republic of Estonia stipulates: “Everyone has the right to preserve his or her national identity.” The national minorities sphere in Estonia is guided by the National Minorities Cultural Autonomy Act, and Estonia has also acceded to the Council of Europe Framework Convention for the Protection of National Minorities.

The national minorities residing in Estonia are actively engaged in preserving their culture and traditions, with more than 200 cultural societies operating. The tasks of supporting the cultural life of national minorities and contributing to preserving the cultural uniqueness and language of national minorities lie with the Ministry of Culture in Estonia. The Council for Ethnic Minorities operates under the Ministry of Culture as an advisory body regarding the development of the cultural life and activities of national minorities.





Liana Roosmaa
Adviser (cultural diversity)
(+372) 628 2266
Updated: 05. December 2013
Kultuuriministeerium Suur-Karja 23 15076, Tallinn (tel) +372 628 2250 (fax) +372 628 2200 minkul.ee